Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Noemi Noemi
10 octobre 2011

Oh my Oh my, Fukuoka

October is full of 3-days week-ends in Japan. This time, I decided to fly south and have a look at Fukuoka, the main city of Kyushu Island, where men are bold and mountains are hot (or the opposite, as you wish). Earthquakes are rare here, but volcanos are still smoking and the air is spicy with sulphur and Korean peppers. From Tokyo, it takes only 2 hours by plane to reach the city, and the little airport is amazingly close to the centertown, so you're ready to enjoy your holidays in an eye's blink.

For your information, I booked tickets with Skymark, the cheapest company to fly inside Japan - both plane and service were very good, I recommend it.

I'aaaaaaam coming up, so you'd better get the party started !

FUKUOKA 15

From the plane : look at who came just to say goodbye to me ! So sweet...

FUKUOKA 1

ZEN OYADO NISHITEI RYOKAN

As I had never been to Fukuoka, I randomly picked up a ryokan on the internet, and I have to say it was the best choice I could dream of. Zen Oyado Nishitei is a super-cute ryokan situated at Yakuin station, 20 by foot from both Hakata station and Tenjin station. Th design is great, traditionnal and neat. I did not order breakfast but I received "midnight" onigiri for free every night ! Fresh water and hot tea are provided in the rooms. The basins and bathroom are common, but the ryokan was so quiet I did not have to wait for it. The bathtube was huge, made of stones, I just loved it.

FUKUOKA 9

FUKUOKA 8

FUKUOKA 7

FUKUOKA 2

FUKUOKA 30

FUKUOKA 39

FUKUOKA 6

FUKUOKA 31

Pajamas provided !

FUKUOKA 44

 

MOMOCHI BEACH

No beach, no holidays. Fukuoka has a great seafront with many beaches, but let me introduce you the closest from the center and most convenient : Momochi Hama !

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 052

FUKUOKA 16

There is a church there for wedding ceremonies and all you can dream about : jetskies, ice-creams, palm trees. And SUNSETS, oh my God, SUNSETS.

FUKUOKA 18

FUKUOKA 13

FUKUOKA 17

FUKUOKA 21

 

FUKUOKA TOWER

All the big Japanese cities so far have a representative tower; Fukuoka Tower is especially beautiful, all made of glass shining in the sunlight...

FUKUOKA 11

FUKUOKA 10

FUKUOKA 20

 

FUKUOKA BY NIGHT

Fukuoka Bay from the Tower

FUKUOKA 22

The Floating Church from the Tower

FUKUOKA 23

Tenjin, the core of the city : wide streets, plenty of lights

FUKUOKA 25

Fukuoka famous street shops selling ramen, gyoza, yakiniku...

FUKUOKA 24

Fukuoka colors

FUKUOKA 26

 

FUKUOKA SPECIALITIES

I know I am desperately French, but I can't help it : for me, whatever the region, ramen is ramen... and I love it, for sure, but I don't really feel the difference between this Hakata Ramen (with soup and pork), the pride of Fukuoka, and any other ramen bowl. Maybe I aù going to be expelled of the country because I wrote this sentence, but whatever.

Hakata Ramen (yummy !)

FUKUOKA 28

Gyoza (one of my favorite dish in the world)

FUKUOKA 29

Fish & Seafood (let's it a lot before getting back home !)

FUKUOKA 40

and pistachio ice-cream ! Ok, it's not a local spciality, but I couldn't resist...

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 071

 

FUKUOKA CITY HALL

This is an amazing building with step gardens on the walls and a big orchestra center inside...

FUKUOKA 34

FUKUOKA 27

Dance contests : Fukuoka moves ! Here is the JR (Japan Railways) team, a funny performance with train noises !

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 230

 

DAZAIFU SHRINE

20 minutes by train from Tenjin station. As the country was invaded by Mongolia a long time ago, it is mixed with several influences and the result is even more colourful than usual shinto shrines.

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 162

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 172

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 184

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 185

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 190

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 204

 

KYUSHU NATIONAL MUSEUM

Huuuge... There is so much space here ! Is it Japan, really ?? Learn everything about Kyushu, including China, Korea, Mongolia influences on the region and above all, enjoy this incredible landscape... Bamboos everywhere ! Kyushu National Museum is a piece of art itself !

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 211

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 215

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 216

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 220

 

NOKONOSHIMA

Just in front of Fukuoka Bay, there is a 12 kilometers-diameter island called Nokonoshima (apparently it is a funny name to the Japanese ears), which is amazingly quiet and peaceful. 10 minutes by boat from Marinoa Mall Ferry station !

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 259

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 260

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 268

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 274

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 275

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 264

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 285

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 296

 

OHORIKOEN

Great park in central Fukuoka, Ohorikoen is the place I have seen the largest number of Westerners in Fukuoka. And this is also the place where I thought that Fukuoka was a very nice city to live in.

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 319

FUKUOKA 35

 FUKUOKA 36

FUKUOKA 37

Fukuoka makes you happy ! Fukuoka makes you genki ! 

Pou-dou-dou ! Trop la pêche, moi. Ouais, ouais.

Fukuoka Lovely we oct 2011 358

Don't miss the chance to go to Fukuoka !

 

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité