Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Noemi Noemi
7 juin 2010

Aesthetic material from Asia

I am spending the summer far from Japan, and more than ever, I need some material to dream. Fortunately my sister rescued me introducing me to the world of an anime which is going to be adapted into a movie next month. Even if the anime is American, the aesthetic is Asian-oriented (but without useless fake-manga style) and it's a pleasure to see how the Westerners can sometimes be inspired by Eastern cultures, images and customs - I had the same emotion watching some Tarentino's movies for example. I have the feeling that in the West, we barely know the Asian continent and its diversity. So I'm thanksful to the people who are interested in the different philosophies hidden behind calligraphy, religions (hinduism, taoism, buddhism...) and martial arts or body disciplines (yoga, kung-fu, taichi, ba gua, hung gar...); especially when they don't try to "do" manga and just focus on creating an original design.

679849755_small

avatar12

A big plus : the animation is made in Korea... and it's just perfect.
The nation of Fire is supposed to represent the Japanese aesthetic - for me, it looks very Chinese but at the same time, the Japanse aesthetic is based on the Chinese one, so... Anyway, it has been turned into an Indian-style world in the movie.


Publicité
Commentaires
M
Avatar is one of the best cartoons ever made ! and proves that collaboration among different cultures RULES. :)
Publicité