Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Noemi Noemi
6 septembre 2011

Disaster Drill at Shinagawa ku

We live in a dangerous country, they say. A country with earthquakes, typhons, tsunami. Yakuza. Old people. MOSQUITOS. Whatever.

Me and my colleagues we have been invited to this training organized by our area, Shinagawa-ku, in order to learn how to stop a fire and providing first aid to heart-attacked people. For the first part, I already did it with my ETP friends tw years ago, but I was the most interested in learning how to use a AED. It reminds me my friend Chris who sells this kind of little things. Hey ! I can use it now ! (although I don't really want to, it does not automatically save lives...).

We have been very brave and met the volunteers at 8am, on a rainy Sunday morning. I have been waken at 7:00 by a little earthquake, just to be in the mood : Japanese people are sooo well organized.

Our nice volunteer guide

Drill 14

She said I was a good girl when I answered "yes, sure, I love cooking". And she talked about his son whois a lawyer, saying very quickly "and married", with a "sorry" looking smile. Well, I was not going to jump on him, you know.

Most of these firemen are... volunteers. Unbelievable.

Drill 4

Drill 13

Drill 3

Me against the fire (I guess it's a bit more difficult with a real fire ans smoke everywhere)

Drill 11

In case of a big earthquake with many victims like in Tohoku in last March, the doctors have to give the priority to the people they have a chance to save. If the body wears a black card, it means that the person is not going to live very long. So unfortunately, if everyone is busy, no cares will be given. Then the green, yellow and red cards give an idea of the gravity of the wounds, from light to very heavy.

Drill 9

Drill 8

Simulation of level 7 earthquake, like in March. You just can't stand up. Note that the only Japanese of our group quietly check information on his smartphone.

Drill 6

The best part : How to use defibrillator. So if you plan to have an heart-attack, do it near a defibrillator, and when I'm around.

Drill 5

Disaster maybe, but we'll have a group pic at the end anyway. It's Japan !

Drill 2

Drill 1

Yep. Everything is under controle.

Publicité
Commentaires
M
I almost wanna have a heartattack near you so that you can shock me. That'd be SO COOL.
Publicité